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MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING 

 

Frequently Asked Questions and Contact Information 
 

Q. How do I add or delete a line of authority to an existing Producer license?  

 

A.  Resident producers adding Life, Accident and Health or Sickness, Variable Life and Variable Annuity, 

Personal Lines, Property and/or Casualty line to an active Producer license must first successfully pass the 

appropriate exam. Allow 2-3 business days to process the exam results then view the license on NIPR to verify if 

the line of authority has been updated.  Do not apply for a new producer license.  

Nonresident producers may add a line of authority to an existing active license online on NIPR.  Nonresidents 

adding a line must hold the line in their resident state. 

The Service Request Form found on our website may be used to modify lines of authority or cancel a license.  A 

resident licensee who requested that a line of authority be cancelled but later wants to add that line of authority 

will need to re-qualify to have the line(s) added at a later date by successfully passing the appropriate exam. 

 

Maryland does not charge for adding a line of authority to an existing active license.  Adding a line of authority 

does not alter or extend the expiration date of the license.  

Q. How can I change my address? 

  

A.  A licensee must notify the Administration within 30 days of the change. This includes the change of an email 

address as MIA sends notifications electronically.  Failure to timely inform the Commissioner of a change of 

address is a violation of the Insurance Article and subjects the licensee to disciplinary action, including, but not 

limited to, license revocation, a monetary penalty, or both.  

Individual and business entity licensees may change their addresses, including email addresses, using the Contact 

Change Request (CCR) feature at www.nipr.com. 

              NOTE:  Address changes resulting in residency status changes are not permitted online.  

 Change of address notification may also be emailed to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov; 

  faxed to (410) 468-2399; or mailed to:   

Maryland Insurance Administration 

Attn: Producer Licensing 

200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 

Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

 

Q. What if I do not have a social security number (SSN)? 

  

A.  If you have an Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN), enter your ITIN number in the SSN field. The 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) assigns an ITIN for individuals with no social security number.  ITINs begin with 

the number “9”. See https://www.irs.gov/individuals/individual-taxpayer-identification-number for more 

information about applying for an ITIN from the IRS. 

 

 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/Service-Request-Form.pdf
file:///C:/Users/staylor1/Downloads/www.nipr.com
mailto:producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/individual-taxpayer-identification-number
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Frequently Asked Questions and Contact Information (cont.)  
 

Q. What address will be disclosed to the public? 

  

A. Under the Public Information Act, our licensing records are considered to be public records. Upon written 

request, we are required to provide the business address of the license. If the business address is not available, the 

home address will be given.  

 

Q. How do I change my name? 

  

A. The Service Request Form found on our website is used to process a name change, including Trade Names.  

The completed form, along with required supporting documents, may be sent via email, fax or mail.  

 

            Individual licensees must submit a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order. Business 

            Entities must attach confirmation that the name change has been registered with the State of Maryland 

            Department of Assessment and Taxation. Nonresidents must have already reported the change of name to  

            their resident state.   

 

Q. How do I print my license? Is there a fee? 

  

A. Active licensees may print a copy of the license online at www.statebasedsystems.com or www.nipr.com. 

There is no fee. Maryland no longer mails license certificates.  

 

Q. How do I request clearance or license cancellation from the state of Maryland? 

  

A. You may email, fax or mail the Service Request Form to request a clearance/license cancellation. 

Confirmation of this request will be sent to the National Producer Database (PDB). If you are clearing out of 

Maryland to obtain a resident license in another state or jurisdiction, the new state will confirm the cancellation of 

your Maryland license using the National Producer Database. Maryland no longer issues the paper letter of 

clearance.  

 

Q. I am moving to Maryland from another state, and wish to become licensed in Maryland as a resident 

producer. What is required?  

 

 

A. 1. If the applicant currently holds an active Maryland nonresident license, the applicant must submit the 

status change request via email, fax or mail within 90 days of the previous home state license cancellation. The 

request must include the licensee’s current Maryland license number, the new residence address, mailing address, 

and business address if applicable. Maryland will verify the clearance electronically via the National Producer 

Database (PDB).  

 

A. 2. If the applicant does not hold an active Maryland nonresident license they must submit a new license 

application and the appropriate fee within 90 days of the previous home state license cancellation. The application 

may not be submitted online, only submit a paper application. If the application is received within the 90 day 

period, the licensee will be exempt from the pre-licensing and examination requirements. Maryland will verify the 

clearance electronically via the National Producer Database (PDB). 

 

 

https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/Service-Request-Form.pdf
http://www.statebasedsystems.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/Service-Request-Form.pdf
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Frequently Asked Questions and Contact Information (cont.)  
 

Q. When a Resident Licensee from Maryland moves out of state and becomes a resident in a new state, what 

procedures must they follow to convert their Maryland license to a non-resident license?  

 

A. If the licensee has requested a clearance from Maryland, the licensee must submit a change of address and 

request that the license be re-activated with a non-resident status within 90 days of the clearance request. This 

request may be emailed to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov or faxed to (410) 468-2399.  Maryland will 

verify the new resident state status electronically via the National Producer Database (PDB). If the request is not 

received within 90 days of the Maryland resident license being cleared / canceled, a new license application and 

fee are required.  

 

*Do Not apply for a new non-resident license on www.nipr.com OR mail in a new non-resident license 

application if you are within 90 days of the Maryland resident license cancellation.  
 

Q. How do I update the Designated Responsible Person on a business entity license?   

A.  Business Entities may change the Designated Responsible Individual by submitting the Association / 

Responsible Individual Designation Form found on our website.  

 

Q. How do I update/affirm an association with an agency?   

A.  Licensees may change or affirm their association by submitting the Association / Responsible Individual 

Designation  Form found on our website. 

 

Q. How do I update/affirm the Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors of a business entity license?   

A.  Business Entities may change or affirm the Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors or Members of the

entity by submitting the Owners, Partners, Officers, Directors or Members Form found on our website.  The 

forms may be sent via mail, fax or email. 

 

Q. Where can I obtain a list of approved Pre-Licensing Courses and Providers?  

 

A. You may obtain a list of approved Pre-Licensing schools at www.sircon.com.  You may also download the 

Licensing Information Bulletin on Prometric’s website https://www.prometric.com/maryland/insurance.  

 

Q. Where can I obtain a list of approved Continuing Education Courses and Providers?  

 

 A. You may obtain a list of approved CE courses and providers and view your continuing education 

 transcript on Sircon’s website: www.sircon.com. 

 

Q. What is the procedure for reinstating a license that has been expired for more than one year?  

 

A. A license that has been expired for more than one year must meet the requirements of a new applicant and 

apply as an initial applicant.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov
http://www.nipr.com/
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/Association-Responsible-individual-designation-form-2019.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/Association-Responsible-individual-designation-form-2019.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/servrequest/update-owner-podm.pdf
http://www.sircon.com/
https://www.prometric.com/maryland/insurance
http://www.sircon.com/
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Frequently Asked Questions and Contact Information (cont.)  
 

Q. Are Insurers required to report appointments or appointment terminations to the Maryland Insurance 

Administration? 

 

A. Maryland no longer requires insurers to report appointments or terminations, except terminations for cause. 

Instead, the insurer is required to keep a Producer Register of its appointed agents beginning with those appointed 

on and after January 1, 2004 in accordance with Maryland Regulation (COMAR 31.03.13).  Every 31 days, an 

insurer shall determine whether the license of any insurance producer who currently is appointed by the insurer has 

been suspended or revoked.  

 

Q. Does a business entity need an appointment?  

 

A. Yes, before a business entity may accept in its own name compensation for acting on behalf of or representing 

an insurer, the entity must hold a license in the kind or subdivision of insurance that it sells, solicits or negotiates 

and an appointment from each insurer that it represents in the same kind or subdivision of insurance. Both the 

entity and the individual insurance producer employed by the entity must hold a license and an appointment.  
 

Q. Does a licensee need to report Administrative Actions taken against them by another jurisdiction or 

governmental unit in Maryland? 

 

A. Yes. Within 30 days after the final disposition of the matter, a report must be made to the Insurance 

Commissioner. The report shall include a copy of the order, consent order, and any other relevant legal documents. 

The information may be submitted via email to the Enforcement Department 

licensingenforcement.mia@maryland.gov, fax to (410) 468-2399 or mail to the Maryland Insurance 

Administration. 

 

Q.  What is the turn-around time for my request? 

 

A. In most cases, complete submissions are processed in 7-10 business days.  Incomplete submissions may incur 

delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed.  

 

 
 

Contact Information Producer 

Licensing Customer Service 
1-888-204-6198 

Monday – Friday   8 a.m. - 5 p.m.  

Producer Licensing Fax 
(410) 468-2399 

Producer Licensing Email 

producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov 

SBS Help Desk 
1-816-783-8990 

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.  

Monday – Friday 

 

sbshelp@naic.org 

Prometric 
(Continuing Education Vendor) 

 

1-800-324-4592 
 

(CE Courses and Transcripts) 
www.sircon.com 

PROMETRIC 

(Pre-Licensing / Examination 

Vendor) 
 

(Examination) 

1-800-610-1174 
www.prometric.com/maryland/insurance 

 

(Pre-Licensing) 

www.sircon.com 

Code of Maryland Regulations   
www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR 

 

State of Maryland Court of Appeals 
 

(410) 260-1500 

www.courts.state.md.us 

 

Maryland Department 

of Assessment and 

Taxation 
(410) 767-1340 

www.dat.maryland.gov 

National Insurance 

Producer Registry 

(NIPR) 

Customer Service 

(816) 783-8468 

www.nipr.com 

FINRA 
(301) 590-6500 

www.finra.org 

MIA Company Licensing (Insurers) 

 (410) 468-2104 
 

mailto:licensingenforcement.mia@maryland.gov
mailto:producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov
mailto:sbshelp@naic.org
https://www.sircon.com/
http://www.prometric.com/maryland/insurance
http://www.sircon.com/
http://www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/ComarHome.html
https://www.courts.state.md.us/
https://www.courts.state.md.us/
https://dat.maryland.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://nipr.com/
https://www.finra.org/#/

