
Understanding Enhanced Underinsured 
Motorist Coverage 
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This presentation does not provide legal advice.  
You should discuss specific questions with your 
trusted financial advisor or insurance producer.
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What is the Maryland Insurance Administration

Video: How the MIA can help

The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is the state agency that 
regulates insurance in Maryland. The MIA:

• Licenses insurers and insurance producers (agents or brokers).
• Examines the business practices of licensees to ensure compliance.
• Monitors solvency of insurers.
• Reviews/approves insurance policy forms.
• Reviews insurance rates to ensure rates are not inadequate, 

excessive or unfairly discriminatory.
• Investigates consumer and provider complaints and allegations of 

fraud.
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https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJHG1vxhqos&list=PLlgoHh4Po1J0TEXelqO_liLAokln_JTXV&index=57


What is the Maryland Insurance Administration?

If you feel that your insurer or insurance producer acted improperly, you have the right to file a
complaint. Examples of improper actions include:

• Improperly denying or delaying payment of all or portions of a claim;
• Improperly terminating your insurance policy;
• Raising your insurance premiums without proper notice;
• Making false statements to you in connection with the sale of insurance or processing of

insurance claims; and,
• Overcharging you for services, including premium finance charges.
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Minimum Required Coverages

Maryland car owners are required to get certain 
auto insurance coverages to be able to register 
their vehicles and obtain tags. Let’s take a look at 
those requirements and some changes that will 
be coming in the next few months for newly 
issued policies.
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Minimum Required Coverages

In order to get tags, the Maryland Motor 
Vehicle Administration will require the owner 
of a car to present proof of liability insurance. 
Liability insurance is the coverage that will pay 
another person if their property, such as their 
car, is damaged or if they are injured in an 
accident in which you are found to be at fault. 
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Minimum Required Coverages

The minimum amount of liability coverage required by 
Maryland law is $15,000 of property damage 
coverage and $30,000 per person/$60,000 per 
accident (if more than one person is injured) of bodily 
injury coverage. You are also required to have at least 
$15,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage 
and $30,000/$60,000 uninsured/underinsured bodily 
injury coverage, though your coverage for 
uninsured/underinsured may not exceed the amount 
of liability coverage under your policy. 
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Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Amounts

Uninsured motorist coverage will protect you if 
you are involved in an accident where the at-fault 
person does not have insurance or is unknown, 
such as a hit-and-run. Underinsured motorist 
coverage protects you if the at-fault person 
doesn’t have enough coverage to fully pay your 
claim. Sometimes this happens when there is 
more than one person injured or more than one 
car damaged.
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Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Amounts

The amount of coverage for uninsured 
and underinsured motorist coverage is 
the same as the amount of your  
liability coverage. 

True or False?
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Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Amounts

True! Generally, the amount of coverage for 
uninsured and underinsured motorist is the 
same as the amount of liability coverage you 
purchase. So, if you get the minimum amount 
of liability coverage-- $15,000 property damage, 
and $30,000/$60,000 bodily injury-- then your 
uninsured and underinsured amounts will be 
the same.
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Waiving Uninsured/Underinsured Matching Limits

But if you buy $50,000 in property damage coverage 
and $250,000/$500,000 in bodily injury coverage, 
then the coverage limits for your uninsured and 
underinsured coverage would be $50,000 in 
property damage coverage and $250,000/$500,000 
in bodily injury coverage, unless you waive the 
excess coverage.  If you waive the excess coverage in 
writing, you will still have the minimum amounts 
required by Maryland law -- $15,000 property 
damage and $30,000/$60,000 bodily injury coverage 
in uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. 

11



Claim Settlement

Now, let’s look at how these coverages 
work. For example, you are hit by a 
driver and their insurer agrees that they 
are at fault. The insurer tells you that 
they will be settling your claim and that 
your car is a total loss. Your car is new 
and in great condition. 

Great news? Maybe not.
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Claim Settlement

The insurer tells you that they determined 
your car is worth $25,000, but the at-fault 
driver’s policy only has the minimum 
property damage liability coverage amount 
of $15,000. They make an offer to settle 
your total loss for $15,000. That is less than 
what your car is worth! Even worse, you still 
owe over $20,000 on your car loan. Don’t 
they at least have to pay an amount equal to 
the balance on your loan? 
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Claim Settlement

Yes or No?
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Claim Settlement

Well, the answer is “no”. They are only legally 
obligated to pay up to the amount of coverage 
limits on the at fault driver’s policy. 

So, what can you do? 
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Claim Settlement

Would underinsured motorist coverage pay the 
difference to fully settle the claim? 

The answer depends upon the amounts and 
types of coverage under your policy.

Let’s look at the various options.
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Claim Settlement - Standard 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

If you have standard uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage and your policy only has the 
minimum amounts of liability coverage -- $15,000 for property damage -- your underinsured 
motorist coverage would not apply since the at-fault party’s coverage amount and your 
underinsured coverage amount can’t be added together under Maryland law.  As a result, if you 
carry only the minimum amount of standard underinsured motorist coverage, generally the most 
you can collect from both insurance companies is $15,000. 
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Claim Settlement - Standard 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

Now let’s say your coverage limits are 
higher. For this example, your liability 
coverage amounts are $50,000 for 
property damage and $50,000/$100,000 
for bodily injury coverage. You also have 
standard uninsured/underinsured 
coverage for the same amounts. In this 
scenario, the insurer for the at-fault party 
would pay $15,000 for your car and your 
insurer would pay the remaining $10,000, 
fully settling your claim. 
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Claim Settlement - Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

If you have enhanced underinsured motorist 
coverage, the final claim settlement may also be 
better than if you only have the minimum amounts of 
standard uninsured and underinsured motorist 
coverage.  

What is “enhanced underinsured motorist coverage”?

19



Enhanced underinsured motorist coverage 
provides coverage, subject to the policy’s 
limits, for bodily injuries and property 
damage resulting from an accident caused 
by the underinsured, at-fault driver. By law, 
the amount of enhanced underinsured 
motorist coverage must equal the amount 
of liability coverage for property damage 
and bodily injury under the policy. 
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Claim Settlement - Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage



Additionally, under Maryland law, with this type of 
coverage, a surviving relative of the insured is entitled 
to recover if the insured dies as a result of an accident 
arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of 
the underinsured motor vehicle. 
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Claim Settlement - Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage



Claim Settlement - Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

Now let’s see what would happen in the scenario we talked about earlier if you have enhanced 
underinsured motorist coverage (EUIM).  
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Claim Settlement - Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

Even with enhanced underinsured motorist coverage, if your policy has the minimum liability 
coverage of $15,000 property damage and $30,000/$60,000 bodily injury, then you would have 
the same coverage limits for uninsured and underinsured coverage. But in the scenario described 
you could recover more in settling the claim. 
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Claim Settlement – Enhanced 
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage

With enhanced underinsured motorist 
coverage, you can add the amounts of coverage 
under your policy and the at fault driver’s policy 
together. In the scenario here, the amount paid 
by the at fault driver’s insurer is $15,000. But 
since you can add the amounts of coverage 
together, there would be enough coverage 
under you policy to pay the $10,000 needed to 
fully settle your claim.
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Claim Settlement – Enhanced Uninsured/Underinsured 
Coverage continued

It is important to note that when adding 
the amount of the at-fault driver’s 
coverage to your enhanced underinsured 
motorist coverage of $15,000 you get a 
total of $30,000 in available coverage. 
This is important to note because if your 
damage had been greater than $25,000, 
you would not have had enough coverage 
without the enhanced underinsured 
motorist coverage.
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Current Automobile Insurance Policies

For policies purchased before July 1, 2024, 
enhanced underinsured motorist coverage 
is optional. So if you want this coverage, 
you have to ask your insurance producer 
(agent or broker) for it. Generally, adding 
enhanced underinsured motorist coverage 
will cause an increase in your auto 
insurance premiums.
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New Automobile Insurance Policies and Changes in the Law

Enhanced Underinsured Motorist coverage will be added to 
all automobile insurance policies effective July 1, 2024. 

True or False?
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New Automobile Insurance Policies and Changes in the Law

False! Beginning on July 1, 2024, this coverage 
will be automatically added to all new auto 
insurance policies. If you do not want enhanced 
underinsured motorist coverage, you will have to 
opt out and sign a form provided by the insurer 
stating that you do not wish to add this coverage 
to your policy. However, enhanced underinsured 
motorist coverage will not be automatically 
added to existing policies, but you may ask your 
insurer to add it to your existing policy. 
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Automatic

Opt Out



New Automobile Insurance Policies and Changes in the Law

Here is the form that will needed to be filled out and signed for all new automobile insurance 
policies after July 1, 2024. If at any time while the policy is in effect you wish to change your 
coverages, you will need to do so in writing. You cannot just call your producer or insurer to make 
changes to your uninsured motorist coverage over the phone. This must be done in writing, which 
includes both paper forms and electronic e-sign forms.
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Enhanced Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverages Form
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Enhanced Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverages Form 
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Review
To review, if you have only the minimum amounts of standard uninsured and underinsured 
motorist coverage required by law, the amount of your uninsured motorist coverage cannot be 
added to the amount of coverage carried by the at-fault party’s coverage, even if there is not 
enough money to fully satisfy your claim. This applies to both property damage settlements as 
well as any bodily injury claims. But, if you have higher policy limits for your standard uninsured 
or underinsured  coverage, you may have enough coverage to fully settle your claim. If you 
choose enhanced underinsured motorist coverage, you can add both policy amounts together 
providing more money available to settle the claim. 
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Review

One final point to share. Purchasing higher 
coverage amounts on your policy for both liability 
coverage and uninsured/underinsured coverages 
may provide better protection against financial 
loss in the event you are in an accident and are 
found to be at fault.  If you do not carry enough 
coverage to fully settle the other person(s) 
claims, you may have to pay the difference in the 
amount of the claim and what your policy covers.
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Review

Generally, increasing your limits for liability 
and uninsured/underinsured coverages or 
adding enhanced underinsured motorist 
coverage will increase the cost of your auto 
insurance. You should speak with your insurer 
or trusted insurance producer about what is 
your best option and the costs of all of your 
options.
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Maryland Insurance Administration
800-492-6116 | 410-468-2000 | 800-735-2258 (TTY)

insurance.maryland.gov

Contact Information

MDInsuranceAdmin

Maryland Insurance Administration

marylandinsuranceadmin

MD_Insuranceen Español: MDInsuranceAdminES

https://bit.ly/mdmiayoutube

35

http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/maryland-insurance-administration/
https://www.facebook.com/MDInsuranceAdmin
https://www.facebook.com/MDInsuranceAdmin
https://www.linkedin.com/company/maryland-insurance-administration/
https://www.instagram.com/marylandinsuranceadmin/
https://www.instagram.com/marylandinsuranceadmin/
https://twitter.com/MD_Insurance
https://www.facebook.com/MDInsuranceAdminES
https://www.facebook.com/MDInsuranceAdminES
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLlgoHh4Po1J0TEXelqO_liLAokln_JTXV
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLlgoHh4Po1J0TEXelqO_liLAokln_JTXV
https://twitter.com/MD_Insurance


Questions?
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