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W H O  W E  A R E
The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is an independent state agency that 
regulates Maryland’s insurance marketplace and protects consumers by ensuring 
that insurers and insurance producers (agents and brokers) act in accordance with 
insurance laws. We produced this guide to help educate Maryland residents about 
auto insurance for teen and young adult drivers.

The Insurance Administration is also responsible for investigating and resolving 
complaints and questions concerning insurers that conduct business in Maryland.

I N T R O D U C T I O N
Most teens can’t wait to earn the privilege to drive . . . alone and away from parents’ 
protective eyes. Statistics show that teenagers are at the highest risk of a crash or 
injury during their first two years of driving. Much of this is due to a simple lack 
of experience. Driver error is also precipitated by such distractions as talking on a 
cell phone, sending or reading text messages, conversing with passengers, smoking, 
eating or listening to music.

Did you know that this simple lack of experience, combined with any driving 
infractions, will greatly affect the auto insurance 
premiums your family pays?  That is why the 
Maryland Insurance Administration has prepared this 
guide. It provides an overview of Maryland’s insurance 
laws and helpful tips on how to reduce your family’s 
auto insurance premiums.
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R E Q U I R E D  A U T O 
I N S U R A N C E  C O V E R A G E

Maryland law requires that each motor vehicle owner obtain insurance coverage on 
a motor vehicle before it is registered. Coverages mandated by law include liability 
coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection; other 
coverages, as discussed later, are optional. These mandatory coverages are described 
generally below. To determine the specific terms of coverage and monetary 
limits you have under your policy, you will need to read your policy forms and 
endorsements.  

•	� Liability Coverage: This mandatory coverage pays for damages to another 
person or another person’s property that result from an accident where you 
are at fault. This coverage typically extends to a member of your family 
who is living with you or to a person to whom you gave permission to 
operate your vehicle. If you’re sued because of the accident, this coverage 
will also pay the cost of your legal defense. Liability coverage is often split 
into two separate coverages; (1) bodily injury, and (2) property damage.

	 1.	� Bodily Injury (BI): When another person sustains injuries or dies as 
a result of an accident for which you are at fault, BI coverage pays that 
person’s damages up to the policy maximum. Although the terms of 
coverage are defined in each policy, such damages generally include 
medical expenses and lost income, as well as pain and suffering. The 
policy may provide coverage to passengers in your vehicle, operators 
and passengers in another vehicle involved in the accident and/or to 
a pedestrian(s). For all policies written or renewed after January 1, 
2011, Maryland law requires the minimum bodily injury coverage 
each driver must have is $30,000 per person per accident and 
$60,000 total per accident. 

	 2.	� Property Damage (PD): Property damage coverage pays, up to the 
policy limits, for damages to another person’s car or property, such as 
fences, mailboxes, buildings, utility poles, signs or trees, that are the 
result of an accident where you are at fault. Maryland law requires 
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that each driver have, at minimum, property damage coverage in the 
amount of $15,000 per accident. 

Although state law sets a minimum level of coverage, you may purchase higher 
limits of both types of coverages if you wish. Also, by law, your insurer must 
offer you liability coverage for claims made by a family member in the same 
amount as the liability coverage for claims made by a nonfamily member.

NOTE:  You may want to consider buying higher coverage limits, because the state 
minimums may not be enough to fully protect you in the event of a serious accident 
claim or lawsuit. Most vehicles today are worth more than $15,000, and medical bills 
for injuries could easily exceed $30,000 per person or $60,000 per accident if several 
people are injured. If you are found at fault for an accident, and the damages exceed 
your insurance limits, you can be held personally responsible for those amounts not 
covered by your insurance. You should decide if your financial condition warrants your 
purchase of higher coverage limits. The higher coverage limits will result in a higher 
insurance premium for your policy. You might wish to obtain quotes for policies with 
different coverage limits so that you know you are getting the coverage you want at a 
price you can afford.

	 •	� Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM): This mandatory coverage pays you 
and the occupants of your vehicle for bodily injuries or property damage 
arising out of an accident involving an uninsured vehicle or a hit-and-run 
vehicle. It will also protect you in the event that you are a pedestrian struck 
by an uninsured motor vehicle. For all policies written or renewed after 
January 1, 2011, Maryland law requires, at minimum, uninsured motorist 
coverage of $30,000 per person per accident and $60,000 total per accident 
for bodily injury and $15,000 per accident for property damage. By statute, 
you are entitled to purchase UM bodily injury coverage in the same amounts 
as the liability bodily injury coverage you have on your policy or you may 
choose to waive any amount of coverage in excess of the statutory minimums.  

   �In Maryland, UM coverage also includes underinsured motorist coverage, 
which is known as UIM coverage. It provides you with bodily injury 
protection in the event you are involved in an accident where the at-fault 
driver has an insurance policy with liability limits that are less than your UM 
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limits, and your injuries  exceed the at-fault driver’s available limits. You then 
can claim the difference under your own insurance policy.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance 
provides reimbursement for some types of  lost income and medical expenses 
for injuries sustained as a result of an accident, regardless of fault.  Maryland 
law requires minimum coverage of $2,500.  If you choose to purchase PIP 
coverage for all insured drivers and residents of the household above 16 years 
of age, this is known as “Full PIP.”  You may, however, elect not to purchase a 
portion of Full PIP.  When you decline to purchase PIP for any listed driver 
and family members of your household (over 16 years of age), this is known as 
“Limited PIP”.  Some policyholders who have health insurance coverage may 
choose to waive PIP coverage in order to reduce the premium on the policy.  
Please note, however, that PIP is designed to ensure that medical expenses 
are paid promptly to limit the economic harm you may suffer due to injuries 
from an auto accident.  Many policyholders pay the extra expense associated 
with PIP in order to have coverage for lost wages.  Others purchase PIP so that 
they have a second source of recovery when being treated for accident-related 
injuries. If you meet certain conditions, MAIF and some other insurance 
companies may permit you to reject all PIP coverage. Ask your producer or 
company to learn more. 

O T H E R  C O V E R A G E 
O P T I O N S

There are other types of coverages, including collision and comprehensive coverage, 
which, while not legally required, are worth your consideration. If you have an 
auto loan, your lender may require you to carry comprehensive and/or collision 
coverages to protect the lender’s financial interest in your vehicle. 

•	� Collision Coverage: Pays for repairs to your vehicle or, in the event of a 
total loss,  will pay you the fair market value of your vehicle prior to the 
accident, when the vehicle is in a collision or overturns. Collision coverage 
is available regardless of who caused the accident, but is subject to a 
deductible.
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•	� Comprehensive Coverage (also known as Other Than Collision): Pays for 
damage to your car resulting from causes other than an accident, such as 
vandalism, theft, glass breakage not resulting from an accident, or striking 
an animal. This coverage is also subject to a deductible.

Depending on the age and value of your car, these coverages may or may not be 
beneficial. If your car is older, the premiums for comprehensive and collision 
coverage may cost more than the car is worth. However, if your vehicle has a value 
to you and you could not afford to be without the vehicle or money for the vehicle, 
you may wish to consider purchasing these coverages as the potential loss to you 
may be greater than the cost of the coverages. In general, you can expect your 
insurance premium to increase if you add these coverages to your policy. However, 
if you choose a higher deductible, your premium will be lower. (This is because 
you, rather than your insurance company, are assuming more risk.) 

OTHER OPTIONAL COVERAGES TO CONSIDER:

•	� Rental Reimbursement: This coverage 
pays the cost of renting a vehicle while your 
damaged vehicle is repaired, when you are 
at fault for an accident. The policy will 
establish the maximum allowable daily rate 
and maximum number of days for which a 
rental will be paid; the maximum generally 
allowed is 30 days.

•	� Transportation Expense Coverage: This 
coverage pays for additional transportation costs (i.e. car rental, bus or 
train fare) while your vehicle is repaired following an accident or a loss.

•	 �Towing and Labor: This coverage will reimburse you if your vehicle has to 
be towed as a result of an accident or mechanical breakdown.

•	� Medical Payments Coverage: This coverage provides you with additional 
money to pay for medical expenses arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
regardless of fault. This is in addition to any PIP benefits you may purchase.

GAP Insurance: It can be devastating financially if your brand-new vehicle, with a 
brand-new loan, is stolen or totaled in an accident, because a traditional insurance 
policy only will pay the actual cash value (ACV) of the vehicle at the time of the 
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loss, even if the car owner owes more than the amount of the loan he took out to 
pay for the vehicle. If you only have traditional coverages, situations can arise where 
the car owner - though not at fault for the accident – will be left without a car and 
have to continue to make payments on the loan. GAP insurance eliminates this 
problem by paying the difference between your automobile’s ACV paid pursuant to 
an automobile insurance policy and the outstanding balance on the car loan.  

C O N S E Q U E N C E S  O F 
F A I L I N G  T O  M A I N T A I N 

T H E  M I N I M U M  R E Q U I R E D 
I N S U R A N C E

Maryland law requires all owners of motor vehicles to purchase and maintain the 
minimum coverage for bodily injury liability, personal injury protection, property 
damage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. State law requires you to 
have a minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury 
liability coverage, $15,000 in property liability coverage, and identical amounts 
of uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, as well as $2,500 in 
Personal Injury Protection coverage. (For more information on Personal Injury 
Protection coverage, see page 4.) State law also requires insurers to report to the 
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) when a policy has been cancelled 
or nonrenewed. 

By law, when an automobile insurance policy is 
cancelled or nonrenewed, the insurer is required to 
notify the MVA.  If based on the information they 
have on record it appears to the MVA that you do 
not have insurance coverage, the MVA will contact 
you and request that you provide a Maryland 
Insurance Certification Form (FR-19) that shows 
adequate coverage has been in place since the vehicle 
was registered. Insurers are required to provide FR-19 
forms free-of-charge, without question, to all policyholders.  If coverage cannot be 
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verified through an insurer, the MVA may assess the vehicle owner a penalty fee for 
each day the vehicle was uninsured. Uninsured vehicle owners could:
•	 lose license plates and vehicle registration privileges; 
•	� pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance - $150 for the 

first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter; 
•	 pay a restoration fee of up to $25 for a vehicle’s registration;
•	� be prohibited from registering any future vehicles until all insurance violations 

are cleared; 
•	� be prohibited from renewing a suspended registration until all insurance 

violations are cleared;
•	� have license plates confiscated by an authorized tag recovery agent, once a 

registration suspension is in effect; or
•	� pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or one year imprisonment for providing false 

evidence of insurance .

If you wish to challenge the fine, you must contact the MVA at 410-768-7000.  
You also may have to pay a fee to reinstate your vehicle registration.

If your vehicle is uninsured for any period of time, you also may find that your 
insurance premium is higher after the lapse. Additionally, you may find that some 
insurers will not insure you or your vehicle if there has been a lapse in coverage 
while you owned it. Insurers sometimes do this because they have found that those 
who drive without insurance present a greater risk for future losses than those 
drivers who maintain continuous insurance coverage.

F A C T O R S  A F F E C T I N G 
A U T O  I N S U R A N C E 

P R E M I U M S
Rating factors are characteristics that place you within a group of drivers with 
similar risk-related characteristics. Companies set rates for each group based on the 
claims paid for the policyholders in that group. Some common rating factors are:

•	 driving record  

•	� age (As young drivers haven’t yet had the time to accumulate a safe driving 
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record, their insurance rates as well as their parents’ will be affected by both 
age and driving record.)

•	� sex  (Young males up to age 26 generally pay higher rates than same-aged 
females.)

•	 address or zip code where the vehicle is primarily garaged

•	 vehicle type.  (Sports and high performance cars cost more to insure.)

T I P S  F O R  R E D U C I N G 
A U T O  I N S U R A N C E 

P R E M I U M S
Probably the easiest and least expensive way for a teen to obtain auto insurance is to 
be added to his parents’ policy. Parents may add their teenager driver to their policy 
by listing him as a driver or, if the parents’ name(s) are listed on the title of the 
teen’s vehicle, by adding the vehicle to their policy.  Either way, the bottom line is 
this: the parents’ rates will increase. 

Here are some tips to help teens maintain lower rates: 
•  Keep a clean driving record. Drivers with accidents and moving violations 
usually pay higher premiums than those with clean driving records. For 
example, if you have more than one at-fault accident in less than three years 
or if you are convicted of any moving violation, your insurance company may 
choose to raise your premiums, non-renew your insurance policy or exclude 
you as a driver from the policy, which allows your parents’ premium to stay 
the same, but prohibits all recovery if you operate the insured vehicle. If your 
driver’s license is suspended or revoked, your insurance company may cancel 
the policy. If you are covered under your parents’ policy, your driving record 
will affect their insurance policy.

•	 �Carefully choose the vehicle you drive. Certain vehicles cost more to 
insure because they cost more to repair, are more likely to be damaged 
in an accident or are stolen frequently.  If you own a sports or other high 
performance car, you may find it difficult to locate insurance at standard 
rates. Furthermore, if your car is a street machine or is souped-up, you will 
also incur higher insurance premiums.
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•	� Drive a vehicle with safety features. Some companies offer discounts  
for items such as air bags, anti-lock brakes, automatic seatbelts and anti-
theft systems.

•	� Maintain a good credit history. Companies may consider your financial 
stability and charge higher premiums based on your financial status (i.e., 
credit card history, amount of credit, how timely you pay your bills, etc.).

•	 �Keep your grades up. Some companies offer a discount to young drivers 
who maintain good grades, such as a “B” average or better.

D R I V I N G  I N F O R M A T I O N 
A N D  T I P S  F O R  Y O U N G 

D R I V E R S
Insurance rates for teenage drivers are high because 
teenage drivers, as a group, have much higher 
accident rates than other drivers. According to the 
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, the leading 
contributing factors cited in police reports in young 
driver crashes include: not paying attention, driving 
too fast for conditions, failure to yield right of way, 
and following too closely.1  To reduce your risk of 
an accident, please keep the following in mind while 
driving:

•	 Remain alert when driving. Keep your eyes on the road at all times.

•	� Stay focused on driving. Don’t let your passengers, or anything else, 
distract you while driving.

•	� Wear your seatbelt. Seat belts have been proven to reduce the risk of 
injuries and fatalities.

•	� Never drive when consuming alcohol or taking drugs.  This is a good idea 
even for some legally-prescribed and over-the-counter drugs until you are 
sure of the affect they may have on you.

1  Source – www.mva.maryland.gov/Driver-Safety/Young/fastfacts.htm 
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I N F O R M A T I O N  A B O U T 
T H E  P R I V I L E G E  T O  D R I V E 

F O R  Y O U N G  D R I V E R S
•	� If you have a provisional license and are under 18 years of age, state law 

prohibits you from using a wireless communication device while driving, 
driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. or having a passenger 
under the age of 18 unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 
at least 21 years old and has driven for three or more years. 

•	� If you are 18 years of age or older and have a learner’s instructional permit 
or a provisional driver’s license, you may not use a handheld telephone 
while operating a motor vehicle.

•	� To be eligible for a full driver’s license, a provisional licensee cannot have a 
conviction for a moving violation in the past 18 months.

•	� If you are under 18 in Maryland, a parent, guardian or other qualifying 
adult must cosign your license application to allow you to drive. And 
remember, a cosigner can write a letter and withdraw his/her consent, 
allowing the MVA to suspend your license.

•	� Police officers are authorized to stop and detain anyone if they reasonably 
believe the individual is, or has been, driving or attempting to drive 
a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol (blood alcohol 
concentration of between 0.04 or 0.08), drugs, controlled dangerous 
substances or driving while intoxicated (blood alcohol concentration of 
0.08 or higher).

Note:  The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration 
(MVA) publishes a brochure entitled:  What Young 
Drivers Need to Know About Driving, Drinking & 
Drugs. Call 410-768-7000 to obtain a copy of this 
brochure. Also, visit www.rookiedriver.com for more 
information.
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W H A T  T O  D O  I F  Y O U 
C A N ’ T  F I N D  I N S U R A N C E 

A S  A  Y O U N G  D R I V E R
If you cannot find auto insurance through standard insurance companies, talk to 
your insurance agent about the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF), 
created by statute to insure people who are unable to get insurance through 
traditional insurers. 

To obtain insurance through MAIF, you:   

1.	� must be turned down for auto insurance by two other insurance 
companies;

2.	� must have a valid Maryland driver’s license or a registered vehicle in 
Maryland; and

3.	� must not owe MAIF an outstanding premium for prior insurance 
coverage.

MAIF’s premiums may be higher than those written with a standard insurance 
company. However, if you maintain a good driving record while insured with 
MAIF, you eventually should be able to return to a standard company.

In addition, if your driving record is poor, and it has 
triggered an increase in premium or a nonrenewal of 
your parents’ policy, your parents have the option of 
excluding you from their policy. If you are excluded, 
this means you cannot operate their vehicle(s) 
because you are no longer insured under their policy. 
However, MAIF offers a named non-owners policy 
that will provide coverage for you when you operate 
vehicles owned by others. This may be a more 
affordable way to provide coverage for a teen driver. 
Keep in mind, though, that the coverage provided under this type of a policy will 
be for the minimum limits required by the state. If you have an accident and the 
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damages are greater than the policy limits, you may be personally responsible for 
the difference. 

W H E R E  T O  O B T A I N 
M O R E  I N F O R M A T I O N

The Maryland Insurance Administration publishes A Consumer Guide to Auto 
Insurance and Auto Insurance - A Comparison Guide to Rates. These are available 
online at www.insurance.maryland.gov in the Consumers/Publications section, or  
by calling 410-468-2340 or 800-492-6116.  Your independent insurance agent 
should also be able to provide information and explanations regarding your auto 
insurance coverage.

H O W  T O  F I L E 
A  C O M P L A I N T

The Maryland Insurance Administration’s primary role is to protect consumers 
from illegal insurance practices by making certain that insurers and producers doing 
business in Maryland act in accordance with state insurance laws.  You may contact 
the Insurance Administration to file a complaint against an insurer or producer 
who you believe is not acting in accordance with Maryland law.

Maryland’s insurance laws not only govern insurers’ conduct – they also protect 
Maryland consumers.  Insurers are prohibited from settling claims in an arbitrary 
and capricious manner.  This means that insurers’ claim settlement practices must 
be fair, nondiscriminatory and adhere to Maryland insurance laws.

If you feel that your insurer has acted improperly, you have the right to take action 
by filing a complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration.  However, some 
disputes may be governed by your policy’s terms and may not be a problem the 
Maryland Insurance Administration can resolve for you.
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Complaints must be received in writing.  Please provide as much detail as possible, 
including copies of pertinent documents.  A trained, professional investigator will 
handle your complaint.  The investigator will contact the insurer/producer to try to 
resolve the issue.  Meanwhile you will be advised of the steps being taken on your 
behalf.  Complaint files are not closed until the Maryland Insurance Administration 
has made a determination regarding the complaint.

The MIA also established a Rapid Response Program designed to help certain 
consumers resolve property and casualty claims (such as auto and homeowners 
claims including those made under commercial lines policies) quickly and 
without having to file a formal written complaint.  For more information about 
this program, please contact us at 410-468-2340 or 800-492-6116 ext. 2340.  
Participation in the Rapid Response Program is voluntary and does not affect your 
right to file a formal complaint.

For additional information or if you have a complaint, please contact the Maryland 
Insurance Administration’s Consumer Complaint Investigation Division at 410-
468-2000 or toll-free at 800-492-6116.  Consumers may also file their written 
complaint in person or by mail.

Consumers may also file a complaint by going online to the Maryland Insurance 
Administration’s web site at www.insurance.maryland.gov and under Consumers, 
click on File a Complaint.

Note:  This publication was produced to help consumers better understand auto 
insurance.  This publication, however, should not be considered a substitute for you 
reading and familiarizing yourself with your auto insurance policy.

Auto insurance policies are contracts with many different parts and terms.  As 
each consumer’s needs are different and few auto insurance policies are alike, many 
consumers benefit from the advice of a knowledgeable insurance producer.  Other 
consumers, however, are comfortable dealing directly with an insurer’s customer 
service representative, who can answer questions and provide advice.
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FILING A CIVIL ACTION FOR A FIRST PARTY PROPERTY & 
CASUALTY OR AN INDIVIDUAL DISABILITY CLAIM 

A Maryland consumer who has a property and casualty insurance policy (property 
and casualty insurance includes automobile, homeowners, fire and/or dwelling, 
inland marine, commercial liability policies) or an individual disability policy (a 
policy that provides for lost income, revenue, or proceeds in the event that an 
illness, accident, or injury results in a disability that impairs an insured’s ability 
to work or otherwise generate income, revenue, or proceeds that the insurance 
is intendeds to replace) that was issued, sold or delivered in Maryland and 
believes that his/her property and casualty insurer or his/her individual disability 
insurer failed to act in good faith in making a decision regarding his/her first-
party insurance claim may seek special damages against the insurer by filing a 
civil complaint, in addition to or in place of filing an administrative consumer 
complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA).

The Insurance Article defines good faith as making a judgment based on honesty 
and diligence supported by evidence the insurer knew or should have known at 
the time the insurer made a decision on the claim. If the Maryland consumer 
files a civil complaint and the insurer is found to have failed to act in good faith, 
the insured may be entitled to an award with enhanced damages. Such enhanced 
damages may include, in addition to the actual contract damages, litigation 
expenses, including reasonable attorneys’ fees not to exceed one third of the actual 
damages payable to the insured, and interest at the post-judgment rate. 

An explanation of when a consumer can seek these special damages, when a 
lawsuit has to be filed with the MIA, and how to make that filing are explained 
in a separate MIA publication: “A Guide for Consumers Filing a 27-1001 Civil 
Complaint.”
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This consumer guide should be used for educational purposes only. It is
not intended to provide legal advice or opinions regarding coverage under a
specific policy or contract; nor should it be construed as an endorsement of  
any product, service, person, or organization mentioned in this guide.

This publication has been produced by the Maryland Insurance Administration
(MIA) to provide consumers with general information about insurance-related
issues and/or state programs and services. This publication may contain 
copyrighted material which was used with permission of  the copyright
owner. Publication herein does not authorize any use or appropriation of  such
copyrighted material without consent of  the owner.

All publications issued by the MIA are available free of  charge on the MIA’s
website or by request. The publication may be reproduced in its entirety
without further permission of  the MIA provided the text and format are not
altered or amended in any way, and no fee is assessed for the publication or
duplication thereof. The MIA’s name and contact information must remain
clearly visible, and no other name, including that of  the company or agent
reproducing the publication, may appear anywhere in the reproduction. Partial
reproductions are not permitted without the prior written consent of  the MIA.

People with disabilities may request this document in an
alternative format. Requests should be submitted in writing
to the Director of  Public Affairs at the address listed below.

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

410-468-2000
800-492-6116

800-735-2258 TTY

www.insurance.maryland.gov
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